C-Span!

I will forgo some sort of constitutional, foundational statement to start this blog. I will say simply that I want to share my passion for food and the craft of cooking. Cooking requires a mindset that is bolstered by music, humor, and friends. As a component of a perfect breakfast, these aspects will all be considered.

Sam Cooke – Change Gonna Come

That being said, tomorrow is a basic breakfast. Louis and I are headed eastbound 80 and need a good start with minimal risk of dysentery. Also, for the sake of keeping us on the road, we’re looking to maximize protein and caloric intake while keeping sugar intake to a minimum. That being said, we’re not doing french toast or pancakes tomorrow. Its, you guessed it, an eggs morning. Demonized by vegans and cholesterol haters alike, the egg does wonders on trips like this. The menu? Just like the day, sunny and light.

Sunny side up with sourdough and Sallymade jam

I used to be terribly adverse to sunny side up; symptomatic of my hatred for foods that touch. Now, I can’t get enough of the mixture of the rich creaminess of the yolk with the simple saltiness of the white. Sunny side up eggs are great alone but they are extremely receptive to additions. One of my favorite things to do is a simple parmesan and parsley topping. Sunny side is also a great opportunity to try out some of your favorite hot sauces. In my book, fresh is great, hot is best. Nothing will get you going in the morning than some Scoville units.

If you’re adding cheese, add it halfway through, when they first look done but are still watery on top. Fresh herbs should be added just before serving. I’m not going to tell you how to make toast, because even by the liberal standards of the blogosphere, no one needs to learn how to make toast. I will say make sure what you’re putting on top is good and be generous with the butter. I make two pieces, one for the egg and one for jam

Whether heading to Utah (as we are) or heading to work, it’ll keep you going. Hope you liked the first post and there’s more to come. Until next time, I’ll leave you with an unofficial breakfast anthem.

Neil Young – Till The Morning Comes

One response to “C-Span!

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

