Help!

I have pictures of Maine, of farmstands and oceans, of family homes and roadside lobster roll shacks. The problem is, I’m unsure of where to host pictures. Any suggestions? Hit the comments.

It’s official, I live in Massachussetts. At least I do for the time being. I’m so glad to have a job and a living situation that keeps me thinking. That being said, I’ve been on WestLaw all day looking up evidentiary appeals to rape cases, but it hasn’t really fazed me, know why?

Blueberry Oatmeal Pancakes.

As I said, Maine blueberries are the basis of some great American literature and need to be treated with respect. One thing this house has in spades is half eaten boxes of various Whole Foods oatmeal. I figure there had to be an oatier, healthier alternative to pancakes. For as bad as I am at it, I try to limit my intake of bleached white flour. It’s just not that good for you, that is, when compared to whole grain wheat flour. I mean, white bread is the natural choice for some foods (read: Chicken Salad Sandwiches) but I can do without most of the time. If you are a sweet breakfast person, which I am not, consider these babies a compromise. They don’t have the jaw-aching sweetness of a Sassy Onion Strawberry Waffle Breakfast but they still bring the glucose pain.

I started my hunt for oatmeal pancakes and, wouldn’t you know, all roads led to epicurious. Epicurious is a great starting point for recipes and is a great ideas place. I usually don’t find the results the best they can be, but all thats needed is a little tweaking, in this case, its fresh fruit, less nutmeg and more oats.

Maine Blueberry Whole Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes
1 cup rolled oats
2 cups buttermilk, in half (the two halves do different things)
3/4 cup whole-wheat flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder (aluminum free!)
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon grated nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
2 tablespoons packed brown sugar
1 cup blueberries, more or less to taste
Optional: 1/2 cup chopped dark chocolate bar

Cover your oats with half the buttermilk. Let it sit there and think about what its done.

Sift/whisk your dry ingredients together. I like to sift, because it distributes the powder and soda better. Have you ever hit a pocket of baking powder? Gross.

Mix half the buttermilk and the eggs. then whisk in the dry goods a little at a time, no clumps. You’ll have a pretty decent batter. Mix up the oats/buttermilk mix a touch and add to the fray. Now, put in your blueberries and you’re ready for fryin’. You know how to fry pancakes. Important parts are heat and oil. In that order.

I do like syrup, really, I do. But not on these, save it for the Bisquick. You’ll need it. Make these pancakes, right now. Embrace the rich brown of the wholewheat. Love thine oats!

So, in the time it took me to finish this, I set up a flickr account. Over this weekend I’ll figure out how to integrate with this so you can actually see what I make and where I go. LIKE YOU CARE!

Peeeeeeeeeebr time.

If I die before I wake, I warn the Lord not my Pabst to take.

One response to “Help!

  1. Matt: Hey dude, you want to get this shitty beer off my hands?
    Spencer: mmMMMmm gimme that Pabst!
    Matt: Good riddance, too.
    *a few hours later*
    Spencer: Hey Charly, you wanna have some delicious and nutritious free beer?
    Charly: mmMMMmm gimme one a them Pabst!
    Spencer: Yeah, drink up. My buddy Matt’s a saint, you know.
    Charly: I bet. Good beer.
    Spencer: Yep.

    And that was my first PBR. Yay!

Leave a Reply

