Eggs… For Birdie

One thing my kitchen is missing is sports metaphors. I’ve been trying to pepper my internal monologues with more analogies like “bacon is a five-tool player” and “cilantro is a threat off the tee and around the green.”

Spring is a wonderful time for upping your sports metaphors. I’ve never been that confident with my ability to participate in sports banter but I think I am pretty good at making my life sound more important by comparing my activities to those of professional athletes.

After a lunch/dinner double header in the kitchen yesterday, I was pretty sure I had found some players that were unstoppable no matter what time of day. Zucchini has never been on my breakfast radar, because well, its not immediately clear what to do with it. Unless you’re Bittman thinking outside of the box then its kind of a tricky one.

I first though it too wet to be a good omelette ingredient, but after seeing how it held up as a pizza topping when coupled with prosciutto and cotija I saw new possibility from this unassuming veggie.

This was also a thinly veiled attempt to involve prosciutto in my morning. I’ve developed an intensely strong bond with this variety of salted, cured meat and I’m always looking for ways to diversify my intake. Not to mention the fact that 16th street boasts one of the better delis in the grid, Sampino’s Towne Foods. Having a deli that good literally a stone’s throw away will be the end of me.

I’m already losing my ability to sports-metaphor. Dammit.

Okay, back to the omelette. I knew that if I wanted to keep the zuke crispy in its egg enclosure, I would have to fiddle with it beforehand. By sort-of marinating the zucchini in rice vinegar and a touch of olive oil, it kind of acts as a light pickling agent and keeps the moisture content up. But, that’s Inside Baseball and if you want to know more about it, I suggest America’s Test Kitchen.

The final product is sweet, salty, light and spicy. Basically a great way to start the morning. Admittedly a little ridiculous, but what is breakfast if not an opportunity to do yourself a favor? The name is the best part…

Omelette with pickled, shaved zucchini and prosciutto

4 ounces zucchini, shaved with a veggie peeler
2 tbsps rice vinegar
1 tbsp olive oil
red pepper flakes, to taste
salt/pep

2 ounces prosicutto
2 eggs
ounce of shredded, mild cheddar cheese
tbsp oil

Put the zucchini in a cup with the olive oil, vinegar and spices and mix to cover. Whisk the eggs with a teensy bit of water and throw in the oiled up pan. Pull down from the sides and spread the liquid around in a circular motion. You know, omelette style. Get it. Once its pretty dry throw the cheese in there. On top of that put some zuke mix on it then the prosciutto. Fold over and let the cheese melt. Once its melty and everything else is nice and coheezed, eat it.

It might look like this.

It might not though. If it doesn’t, well, shit, keep trying. Prosciutto is not a bad trial and error ingredient.

In other news Phil Spector is going to die in prison. Some of my favorites.

George Harrison – My Sweet Lord
Righteous Brothers – You’ve Lost That Loving Feeling

One response to “Eggs… For Birdie

  1. i think ‘coheezed’ is just the word i’ve been looking for. i found your blog through orangette, and it’s a great read. keep it up, dude!

    and this zucchini recipe isn’t breakfast, but it’s startlingly delicious considering how easy it is. see what you think: http://www.nytimes.com/2008/08/23/health/22recipehealth.html?scp=1&sq=%22zucchini%20pasta%22&st=cse

Leave a Reply

