Bakin’/Bacon

The bacon gods have once again floored me with their providence.

Let me hit ya’ll with a lil preview to the remix…

Did simply breakfast ever do photoshoots on top of her washer because the light is better? I don’t think so.

I wanted to come back from my hiatus with a strong recipe, something that made the wait worth it. While I wanted to go all out and try to recreate the Bintliff’s eggs au beurre noir but it just didn’t feel right. I also am scared to death of trying to make black butter. How do you know if you screwed it up?

The answer of this morning’s “What’s for breakfast?” was given by the garden. While the peppers, tomatoes, and onions are all truckin’ towards a high bounty, our herb pot is already pumping out deliciousness. I’ve been laying into the oregano hard, but still had yet to touch the chives. That’s when I remembered my lady Paula Deen.

This venerable, unabashedly southern butter monger has become something of my id. In the kitchen her voice in my head is always pandering to my lipid instincts. And on this day, in front of my herbs her voice cut through the din of competing recipe ideas like a beagle getting its foot stepped on, “CHIVE AND CHEDDAR CORNMEAL MUFFINS, YA’LL.”

Sure thing, Paula.

I believe that Mikey was the first one to introduce me to chives in a baked good when he described the bacon chive biscuits that commemorated he and Meg’s first anniversary. I considered just making those, but Paula wasn’t having it. She wanted cheese.

I picked up the Gourmet Cookbook to get a basic cornbread muffin recipe and then figured that the addition of cheese would probably make the muffin a little moister as it lost some of its oil cooking. The result wasn’t bad, but I changed it up a little nonetheless.

Without further ado…

CHEDDAR AND CHIVE CORNMEAL MUFFIN’S, YA’LL


Makes 12 muffins
1 cup flour
1 cup cornmeal
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup buttermilk
2 eggs
1/3 cup melted butter
1/4 cup chopped chives
1/2 cup shredded white cheddar

Its a lot of ingredients. Don’t trip, just preheat to 420.

Remember the dry/wet approach I use for almost all my baking? Yeah, same thing here. Remember to let your liquid absorb into the dry goods. Give it a few minutes after addition. Throw the chives into the dry part and whisk, then add all of the wet stuff that was mixed together.

Now, here is the only part that is at all tricky. It isn’t even tricky; its a thing you have to do. It is not deceiving and complicated. It is simply a step. Spoon half of the batter into the buttered tins and spread the shredded cheese over the half and then put the rest of the batter over that.

Bake it. BINGO.

If you’re like me, you’ll throw throw this next to some Bacon smoked Bacon and an uncharacteristically cheeseless grape tomato cilantro omelette. BOOYAH.

Gloomy day music. Two of the three are reposts. Cry about it.
The Supremes – My World Is Empty Without You
Avalanches – Since I Left You
Beegees – Massachusetts

3 responses to “Bakin’/Bacon

  1. thx gawd an update. your “simply breakfast” link is fuxxd up tho, unless i’m missn sumthing

  2. 4:20 AM!

  3. Looks very good. Things are always better tasting and feeling when you do them yourself.
    Check out my blog on my home cheesemaking and home sourdough making experiments.
    http://www.cheesenbread.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

