The Hissing of Summer Gardens

My first attempt at a garden has been peppered with some decidedly rookie mistakes. Short sightedly cramped planting has turned the tomatoes into a neck high and impenetrably dense hedge of fruit. Miscalculations in the lumber aisle have left only one side of our garden plot with defense only against an animal as dense as the tomato hedge.

Hedge Fun

I’ve always been a proponent of reasoned pessimism and never having gardened before I didn’t think it wise to assume a high bounty. But a funny thing happened on the way to the Vanagon; my morning inspection turned out to be, well, quite fruitful.

tom tom club

I have to say that gardening in Sacramento is like bowling with bumpers on- its pretty hard to fail completely. There is still a great deal to do; corn and leeks to plant, starts of radishes to transfer and sunflowers to sow, but the knowledge that at the very least I can eat fried green tomatoes from my own backyard I thought deserved something a little special.

Blackberry Kefir Scones

Preheat to 477 K

7/4 cups all-purpose flour
4 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup white sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
5 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 cup dry diced fresh berries
1/2 cup rasp/black/blueberry kefir
1/4 cup sour cream
1 egg
1 tsp milk

My introduction to scones was as a baker of them, 6:00 a.m. in Salem, Oregon. I drew the employment short straw at the Bistro and once a week, with the help loud loud rap I made scones from scratch mix.

I didn’t know much about scones, anything really, besides that they were big, dense and usually drenched in frosting. Not my idea of breakfast fodder. However after making these little guys, my opinion has changed. These are moist, light and airy, chocked full of berry flavor and really receptive to being made healthy.

Did you notice theres very little butter? I was confused too and pretty inclined just to put more in it, but I placed my trust in the hands of the recipe I jacked from the internet and restrained my fat kid urges.

Start things off by preheating. What with the mercury pushing 90 recently I find the only time to bake is the morning. Bright and early with coffee in hand and nibblin’ on toast. Baking days are made for simple sustenance. Mix your dry stuff, the sugar, salt, flour and baking powder. Cut the butter into the flour with a fork and let it marinate.

Mix your kefir and sour cream and distribute your berries throughout. Blend with floured hands and split into two balls of dough. Flatten them out on a greased cookie sheet and egg wash for aesthetics. Egg wash is a little water and egg that, as the name implies, is just wiped on the top of a baking goodie to give it a golden top. Thats all.

Bake, baby, bake for about 7 minutes. Take it out and using a spreader cut the rounds into pie wedges, as big or as wee as you like. Throw it back in until the top is right golden. Then sit back, relax and eat your breakfast.

Mark your calendars for June 21st. We here at BB are teaming up with some blogosphere heavyweights to bring you the Sights, Sounds and Tastes of Summer. I’ll be throwing down a bunch of new recipes while blogs like thirtythirsty will be trotting out new mixes.

Charles Trenet – Jardins Du Mois de Mai
Foster Sylvers – Misdemeanor (ripped from Soul Summer)

2 responses to “The Hissing of Summer Gardens

    • Nikita,
      If my free translation tool is correct you find my recipe “So: excellently” and that might be the nicest thing anyone has ever said to me on this here blog.
      Matt

Leave a Reply

