Open Letter to the DIY Movement

Hey guys, its great and all that you’re getting back to what it means to make a living. I love hearing about trial and error in the kitchen and places like Sacramento’s Bike Kitchen are living proof that teaching a man to fix his bike allows him to pedal for a lifetime. The New York Times is, as it often does, taking a movement to its logical end with this articulate yet ultimately self-congratulatory argument for working with your hands.

I find it fitting that this attempted return to self-sufficiency is being brought about by a group labelled “The Expectation Generation” in the echo chamber of newsmagazines. Regardless of the media’s overwhelming desire to label entire generations of people, there is a lot of validity to the argument that from kindergarten we have been raised to believe that we can do anything. We are all unique and if we put our minds to it, we will achieve our dreams!

So when I set out to make fridge pickles with backyard goodies the other day, I just knew that I was going to strike gold. As soon as the brine hit the pepperocinis and cucumbers my cell phone would ring and the Vlassic Stork would offer to buy the recipe to the world’s best pickle.

I assumed success and all I got was a stomach ache that makes riding a bicycle and going up stairs terrifying. I did it myself!

So I didn’t really eat yesterday on account of this here tummy beast and woke up this morning ravenous. I need fiber, and protein and no cheese and certainly no pickles. Determined to do very little of this breakfast myself, I turned to Everybody Likes Sandwiches, a blog that has never let me down.

Well, she is where I got the fridge pickle recipe, but I changed it up in a few fatally flawed ways. I have only myself to blame.

Toasted Oats with Yogurt and FROOTS
Adapted from Everybody Likes Sandwiches

1 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup chopped nuts
1/2 cup yogurt
1 tsp cinnamon
MIXED FROOTS to taste

I use my cast iron guy for this.Toss the oats into the cast iron and throw under a broiler for about 3 minutes, take out and mix the nuts and cinnamon in. Another minute or two and you should be golden.

Take it out and let it sit while you dump the yogurt and berries into a bowl. Cover with oat/nut mix and

Leave a comment